Bill Lockhart Receives the Roush Excellence in Teaching Award

admin | January 27, 2012

Friday, January 20th, NMSU Alamogordo held its annual “Celebration of the Academy” at the Tays Events Center. This event launches the spring semester and recognizes excellence in faculty and staff.

Mr. Bill Lockhart received The Roush Excellence in Teaching Award at the NMSU Las Cruces Convocation the previous day and was recognized with a special commemorative plaque from his colleagues at NMSU Alamogordo at this Celebration luncheon. Mr. Lockhart has distinguished himself for many years as one of NMSU-A’s faculty and is well-known in the community as a outstanding sociologist, archaeologist, and historian.

The “Celebration of the Academy” luncheon also recognized:

NISOD Excellence Award:

  • Stefanie Ledesma
  • Dr. Karen Reid

Faculty & Staff Longevity Awards:
5 Years

  • Tanya Allred
  • Stefanie Ledesma
  • Erin O’Neill
  • Billy Page
  • Wanda Wakkinen

10 Years

  • Janet Delgado
  • Darlene Duvall
  • Theresa Gonzales
  • Jary Rupe
  • Dr. Debra Teachman

15 Years

  • Joyce Reynolds
  • Bob Schenk

Faculty Promotions:

  • Cathy Aguilar-Morgan – Associate Professor
  • Susan Cook – College Professor
  • Dr. Joyce Hill – Associate Professor
  • Sara Irving – College Professor
  • Jary Rupe – Professor
  • Jennifer Smith – College Assistant Professor


  • Dr. Joyce Hill
  • Kim Lopez-Gallagher

Advanced Degrees:

  • Melissa McIntyre – Bachelor of Arts – Psychology, minor in Management – NMSU
  • Judith Strawderman – Master of Education in Curriculum & Instruction – Grand Canyon University, Phoenix, AZ
  • Charles Turpin – Masters in Criminal Justice – NMSU

To view photos from this event, please vist the NMSU-A Flickr page.

Comments are closed.