Graduation 2013 Awards and Special Recognitions

NMSU-A Web Developer | May 23, 2013

Thirty-Sixth Annual Graduation Ceremony
May 10, 2013

The Thirty-Sixth Annual Graduation Ceremony was held at 7:00 pm on Friday, May 10, 2013 at the Tays Center at New Mexico State University Alamogordo.

Graduates attending the ceremony received their commencement address from Regent Javier Gonzales, New Mexico State University Board of Regents. Elizabeth Driggers, Field Representative from the Office of U.S. Senator Tom Udall and Dara Parker, Field Representative from the Office of U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich, read special letters of congratulations to the graduates from each of the senators. Ty Trujillo, Executive Director of the New Mexico Association of Community Colleges, presented the New Mexico All-State/All-USA Academic Team members, Hannah McCurdy and Patrick Stewart, with medallions. Hannah was selected as a Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Winner–a Gold Scholar. She is one of the fifty students in the nation to receive this honor. Patrick Stewart was awarded the Silver Award. Selections are based on scores earned in the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition

Wanda Wakkinen, winner of the Roush Teaching Award, was this year’s Faculty Marshal and led the faculty and staff in the processional. Jessica Lopez gave the “Charge to the Graduates” speech to the Bachelor of Science candidates. Patrick Stewart gave the “Charge to the Graduates” speech to the associate degree candidates. James Flores, (Treasurer for the The Culinary Club; member of the League of Latin American Citizens, Youth Council; and student senator) served as the Student Marshal.

The graduates that attended the ceremony received associate degrees in Arts, Automotive and Hybrid Technology, Biomedical Electronics Technology, Business Office Technology, Computer Animation, Criminal Justice, Education, Early Childhood, Electronics Technology, Fine Arts, Graphic Design, Information Technology, Nursing, Occupational Business, Paralegal Studies, Pre-Business, Science and Social Services.

At the ceremony, there were also four students who were candidates for Bachelor of Science Degrees in Elementary Education through the Distance Learning program at New Mexico State University, and one student who received a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology. One student was recognized for receiving a Master of Arts Degree in Education. Two certificate recipients also participated in this year’s graduation event. A Criminal Justice Degree was awarded posthumously to student, Noel Chesbro.

There were 93 students in total who participated in this year’s commencement ceremony.

Scholastic Awards were presented by faculty to students:
• Bill Lockhart presented the Behavioral Science Academic Excellence Award to Sandy Barnes
• Mary Ellen Keith Presented the West Publishing Outstanding Legal Studies Awards to Newby Burns and Laura Czymbor.

The Outstanding Alumnus award was presented to Casey Hillis-Mazure. Remick Ham received the “Friend of the College” award.

Photos of the ceremony can be viewed HERE

Comments are closed.