2009 NMSU-A Student of Merit Awards

hpatterson | May 29, 2009 | Comments (0)

Each year, NMSU-A presents the Student of Merit Award to a deserving student at each of the area high schools and middle schools.  Once the student is selected by the school’s staff, his/her name is forwarded to the Public Information Office who provides the plaques and coordinates each of the school presentations.

The Student of Merit is based on several criteria, including academics, citizenship, participation in and contribution to school and community activities, daily demeanor with fellow students, faculty, and administration – in other words – a well-rounded young person who sets a fine example for all.

This year, in addition to the eight awards, NMSU-A President, Dr. Cheri Jimeno, provided the graduation Commencement Address at Holloman Middle School.

NMSU-A is pleased to recognize the following Students of Merit for 2009:

Shelley O’Brien – Alamogordo High School

Benjamin Rodriguez – Tularosa High School

Caitlin Crawford – Academy Del Sol

Montana Varbel – Tularosa Middle School

Helena Pietrzak and Jordan Cui – Holloman Middle School

Kathryn Cecava – Chaparral Middle School

Zachary Barraza – Mountain View Middle School

Jacob Shanta – Tularosa Intermediate School

Leave a Reply