Skip to main content

New Mexico State University


Attention New Students: If you are experiencing technical issues when you login to your MyNMSU account, please contact 575.439.3600 or 575.646.1840 or e-mail
We apologize for any inconvenience.

Faculty Assembly

The New Mexico State University at Alamogordo Branch Community College Faculty Consortium Committee was established in July, 2002. The working body of the Faculty Consortium, the Faculty Assembly, is made up of elected members from all faculty.

NMSU-Alamogordo first faculty committee was the Senior Faculty Committee. In 1997, the Junior Faculty Committee was created. In April, 2001, Assistant Professor Sue Frantz, the Junior Faculty Chair, and Professor Clint Burleson, Senior Faculty Chair, proposed to unify the NMSU-A faculty into one committee. A steering committee, chaired by Dr. James Gallagher, developed bylaws for such an organization. Working with faculty and administration, the steering committee fine-tuned the bylaws. The bylaws were passed by a majority of faculty; the Junior and Senior Faculty Committees were dissolved; and in July, 2002 the Faculty Consortium was officially established within the NMSU-A committee system.

In 2006, the Faculty Assembly was given a vote in the Academic Council. The Faculty Assembly also has a vote in APAC.

Chairs: 2002-2003, John Haley; 2003-2004, Bob Pena; 2004-2006, Jeanette Little; 2006-2007, Joyce Hill; 2007-2008, Wayne McGowan; 2008-2009, John Haley; 2009-2010, Sara Irving; 2010-2011: Ray Nejeres; 2011-2012: James Gallagher; 2012-2014: Wayne McGowan.

Vice-Chairs: 2002-2003, Cathy Kerska; 2003-2004, Connie Breding and Lea Rano; 2004-2005, Linda Fritze; 2005-2006, Jim Gallagher; 2006-2007, Wayne McGowan; 2007-2008, Bette Berry; 2008-2009, Sara Irving; 2009-2010, Matthew Placencio; 2010-2011: Connie Breding; 2011-2012: Wayne McGowan. 2012-2013: Carrie Baldwin; 2013-2014: Robert Klinger.

Recording Secretaries: 2002-2004, Jim Gallagher; 2005-2006, Claire Tiller; 2007-2010, Bill Lockhart; 2007-2012: Wanda Wakkinen; 2012-2014: Bill Lockhart.

Faculty Mentorship Program

If you are willing to be a mentor, or are looking for a mentor, please fill out this online form.

For more information, please see the Faculty Mentorship Handbook.

Related Pages